Welcome to RuReg, the Acoustic Data Base of Russian Regional Speech! Since 1991 we1 have been conducting field work in various Regionen of Russia to gain a living picture of the linguistic, social, and cultural situation recording interviews with local speakers. Entering RuReg you are invited to take part in our encounters and conversations, and to gain access to all these materials for non-commercial use and for research purposes.

Marked with red points are the places where our expeditions started.
Thanks to I. Krutov (INT, Moscow) allowing us to use this map.

Location: location
Shortname: shortname

shortname

How does the recorded speech signal reach our ear? There are two ways (cf. Instructions ), one a) for all people interested in Russia (even without knowing Russian), and one b) for scientific exploration.

a) using the tab RuReg-Expeditionen (or the red point on the map, for short) leading to one of the expeditions. You´ll find information about our planning process, about our motivations and the adventures of travelling. You´ll get insight into the history of the region and some characteristic traits of the inhabitants. You´ll hear speech samples and come to know cultural details.

b) using the tab RuReg-Database, the unrestricted and easy way to the recordings (cf Data structure ). These can be operated track by track using different searching strategies, the results being evoked acoustically online and downloaded, all operations facilitated by two newly developed technologies: (1) annotations making use of thematic, textual, linguistic, situational, voice as well as social criteria2 , and (2) the oscillogram accepting user´s marking of the fragment to be processed. This fragment can be stored and provided with a code that leads you – and whoever is given the code – back to the respective place in the data base. This is the technique of acoustic citation3 , and this technique is applied for the speech samples in RuReg-Expeditionen/Speech-Samples.

The expeditional section of RuReg as well as the construction of the Data Base are being accomplished at the Ruhr University Bochum, the Hochschule Bochum, the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, the University of Sarrey and the Vjatka State University of Humanities in Kirov, financially supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG, Grant Nr. SA-214, 215, 216.

Thanks to our Russian interviewees! They generously let us take part in their life and the life of their region, and they activated the whole of their eloquence to evoke a living human picture in our mind. It´s our deepest satisfaction to forward this treasure.

1 Christian Sappok, head of the project
Leonid L. Kasatkin, Rozalija F. Kasatkina, Moscow
Elena N. Moškina, Vera V. Podrušnjak, Kirov
Aleksandr M. Krasovitsky, Sarrey and Oxford, Ludger Paschen, Leipzig
Marion Krause, Margje Post, David Pineda, Bergen
2 developed by Ch. Sappok, Seminar für Slavistik/Lotman Institut,
and the Chair of Tanja Anstatt, Ruhr Universität Bochum.
3 developed in the Laboratory for Data Bases, Katrin Brabender,
Andreas Koch, Nadja Kühl, Hochschule Bochum.


from left to right: R. F. Kasatkina, a dialect speaker from Leka,
Ch. Sappok, L.L.Kasatkin (photographed by C. Odé in 1991)

Willkommen in RuReg, der akustischen Datenbank russischer Regionalsprache! Seit 1991 führen wir1 Expeditionen in verschiedene Regionen Russlands durch um – in Form von Aufzeichnungen unserer Gespräche – ein lebendiges Bild von der sprachlichen, sozialen und kulturellen Situation zu gewinnen. RuReg macht es möglich, diese Reisen, Begegnungen und Gespräche mitzuerleben und auch für wissenschaftliche Zwecke zu nutzen.

Location: location
Shortname: shortname

shortname
Markiert mit roten Punkten sind die Ausgangspunkte unserer Expeditionen.
Dank an Herrn Vadim Krutov (Verlag INT, Moskau) für diese Karte!

Wie erreicht eine Tonaufnahme Ihr Ohr? Zum Hören (siehe Instruktionen ) führen zwei Wege: a) für alle an Russland Interessierten, auch ohne Russischkenntnisse, und b) für wissenschaftliche Zielsetzungen:

a) vom Reiter RuReg-Expeditionen zum Sprachbeispiel. Unterwegs erfährt man etwas über die Planung, die Motivation und über den Reiseweg. Man erhält Einblicke in die Geschichte der Region und ihre Bewohner. Endlich, als Höhepunkt dieses Weges, hört man Sprachbeispiele und bekommt Anregungen, sich weiter mit dieser und mit anderen Regionen Russlands und ihrer Sprache zu beschäftigen.

b) über den Reiter Datenbank RuReg direkt zu einer der Aufnahmen (siehe Datenstruktur ), die man Track für Track „durchblättern“ kann. Dabei können bestimmte Suchstrategien eingesetzt und die Ergebnisse online gehört und abgerufen werden, wobei zwei neu entwickelte Techniken helfen: (1) Annotationen nach thematischen, textuellen, sprachlichen, situativen, stimmlichen sowie sozialen Kriterien2 ; und (2) eine vom Nutzer am Oszillogramm bestimmbare Wahl der zu hörenden Lautausschnitte. Diese können heruntergeladen werden, sie können mit einem Code versehen werden, so dass sie jederzeit anhand dieses Codes wiederauffindbar und damit zitierbar sind3 . Dies ist auch die Technik, die in RuReg-Expeditionen/Sprache zum Einsatz kommt.

Der Aufbau des Expeditionsteils und der Datenbank erfolgt an der Ruhr Universität Bochum, der Hochschule Bochum, der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, der University of Sarrey und der VGGU (Vjatka Staatsuniversität für Geisteswissenschaften) Kirov, mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, GZ: SA -214 bis 216.

Wir danken allen unseren russischen Gesprächspartnerinnen und Gesprächspartnern. Sie geben uns großzügigen Einblick in ihr Leben und das Leben ihrer Region und setzen dabei ihre ganze Beredsamkeit ein, um ein lebendiges Menschenbild in uns wachzurufen. Wir geben diesen Besitz gerne weiter!

1 Christian Sappok, Projektleiter
Leonid L. Kasatkin, Rozalija F. Kasatkina (Moskau)
Lena N. Moškina, Vera Podrušnjak (Kirov)
Aleksandr Krasovitsky (Sarrey und Oxford), Ludger Paschen (Leipzig)
Marion Krause (Hamburg), Margje Post, David Pineda (Bergen)
2 entwickelt am Seminar für Slavistik/Lotman Institut, Ch. Sappok
und Lehrstuhl Tanja Anstatt, Ruhr Universität Bochum.
3 entwickelt im Laboratorium für Datenbanken, Katrin Brabender,
Andreas Koch, Nadja Kühl, Hochschule Bochum


Von links: R.F. Kasatkina, eine Dialektsprecherin aus Leka,
Ch. Sappok, L.L. Kasatkin (Aufnahme von C. Odé 1991).